You are here

Homecoming 2013

Homecoming 2013 was a week of fun for alumni.   The annual faculty/staff vs. the women’s softball team was fun for everyone.  Many alumni, faculty and staff enjoyed watching the game and the cook-out following, provided by the Alumni Association.  The women’s softball team won the coveted trophy, once again.

The alumni association meeting was held at the Hauptli Student Activities Center, Brown Mezzanine.  Alumni were entertained by special performances by a couple of our talented music students, and the new 2013-2014 Alumni Council officers were announced.  They are as follows:  President- James Lambert ’82, Vice President- Randy Lamer MBA ’06, Secretary- Lori Trow ’82, Treasurer- Rick Dahl ’99. 

The Institutional Advancement office hosted an open house.  Many alumni were on campus and stopped by for refreshments and to pick up their Homecoming 2013 t-shirt.

At the Alumni Luncheon, the class of 1963 was recognized by Dr. Thompson and they received their Order of the Golden W pin.  Class President, Ken Dubois, shared some Wesleyan Memories with his fellow classmates.

The Inauguration Installation of Dr. Matt Thompson was a special event on Friday afternoon.  Alumni were invited to march in the procession along with others in their class, to show support for and to welcome Dr. Thompson as Kansas Wesleyan University's 19th president.  That evening, Kansas Wesleyan hosted a Family Celebration for students, alumni, faculty, staff, and the community.  Complete with a carnival, zip line, and carvival foods, a great evening was had by all.

The awards breakfast was a special treat for all who attended.  The Wesleyan Chorale, under direction of Ken Hakoda, provided entertainment.  The 2013 Alumni Award winners were recognized and are as follows:  Young Alumnus:  Dr. Lawrence Greiten, '02, Alumni Achievement:  Michele Palmgren, '95, '97, MBA '03.  In addition, four MBA alumni awards were recognized by Dr. Carol Ahlvers.  They are as follows:  Ava O'Flannagan (MBA '98), Shih (Alex) Hwu (MBA '98), Ph.D., Travis Dust (BA '02, MBA '05), D.C., Chun-Ju (Cynthia) Teng (MBA '99).  The W Club gained several new members by inducting several new members into the Athletic Hall of Fame.  2012-13 Inductees are:  Bill Keeler '44, football; Scott Jackson '90, football; Alice Watkins '83, women's athletics; Ron Alleger '71, football; 1987-88 women's Basketball Team.

The choir concert at Fitzpatrick was well attended by alumni, the men’s and women’s soccer teams played hard against the alumni at Salina Stadium, KWU fans feasted at the pre-game tailgate party and packed the stands with purple for the Coyotes vs. Bulldogs football game.

The Homecoming weekend ended with a memorable church service by Rev. Nathan D. Stanton, '91, at University United Methodist Church, followed by a delicious chicken dinner catered by Brookville Hotel. 

Thank you to all the alumni and friends of Kansas Wesleyan University for making Homecoming 2013 one to remember.

Please click on the side links to view event photos.

Yours for KWU,

Jennifer Rein, MBA ‘10